Book Art

30 Oct

You can’t judge a book by its cover (unless it’s a romance novel), but you can judge a library if it’s uninspiring and turns youth/non-readers away from its doors. All the libraries I’ve visited have been pretty boring and do wrong onto the books they keep. I have found pieces of art that can help boost a library in need.

us-bookcase

This example I found from NotCot.org, it’s a book case that I think would be fun for a travel or American History section of a library.

What your read can make up who you are, but what makes up what you read? Check out this classic BBH sheep in the bookcase look:

bbh1

Also, think outside the box with bookends.

bookends031

The essence of libraries needs to be changed to encourage those who not only judge books by there cover, but won’t even go near a boring library. Thanks to the Kansas City Library, who is way ahead of the game with their wonderful facade:

summer09_ten_kansas_city_library

Time to capture the power and imagination of books through art.

One Response to “Book Art”

  1. Suzi Steffen February 17, 2010 at 8:47 PM #

    Hey Max! Though I love me some KC library (grew up there), and I am very interested in the new Seattle library (the tour was interesting), I am not sure I agree with your premise. For one thing, libraries are about what’s *INSIDE* of them, not what’s OUTSIDE. Just like books. Though I’m willing to criticize a cover for various reasons, I still read the book if it’s one I’m interested in already (admittedly, I have a huge book-reading and book-critiquing and book-writing community from which to get my information). Same with libraries. Though the Eugene Public Library, new edition, is far more gorgeous than the frankly craptastic old building, the lovely building isn’t why I go to the library. I go for books, DVDs, CDs, meetings and, er, coffee.

    All of that said, I’m not a designer. Also, on forums like YALSA-BK (it’s a list for librarians who work in young adult areas of libraries, to put it a bit simplistically), there’s often a *fantastic* discussion about how to create teen-welcoming spaces in libraries, and you might be interested in looking at what some of the libraries do to encourage YA/teen participation. I mean, if you’re still interested; this was October, after all. Heh.

Leave a Reply

